Magnum Photos Event

Winners Announced: The Graduate Photographers Award 2015 with Photo London & RBB Economics 



Ten recently graduated photographers have been announced as the winners of the inaugural Graduate Photographers Award 2015 in association with Magnum Photos and Photo London.

The winners of the award, supported by RBB Economics, have won mentoring from a Magnum photographer, a portfolio review event with the nomination panel and a slideshow of their work on Friday 22 May, 6.30 – 7.30pm at the <a href='' target='_blank'>Screening Room, Photo London, Somerset House.</a>

The winners are:

<a href='' target='_blank'>Sebastian Bruno</a>
<a href='' target='_blank'>Harry Mitchell</a>
<a href='' target='_blank'>Kate Nolan</a>
<a href='' target='_blank'>Sunil Shah</a>
<a href='' target='_blank'>Henna Mattila</a>
<a href='' target='_blank'>Sophie Green</a>
<a href='' target='_blank'>Milo Newman</a>
<a href='' target='_blank'>Robin Lambert</a>
<a href='' target='_blank'>Jack Carvosso</a>
<a href='' target='_blank'>Miriam Stanke</a>

The Graduate Photographers Award provides a new opportunity for photographers, acknowledging the best emerging practitioners providing them with exposure to both a public and highly professional audience.

A team of ten highly skilled industry experts each nominated ten outstanding photographers who have graduated from a UK degree course relating to photography or lens-based media in the last three years. From these nominations, the final selection of ten photographers have been identified by a panel of judges: Kate Bush, Head of Photography for Science Museum Group; Fiona Rogers, Global Business Development Manager at Magnum Photos; Francis Hodgson, Photography Critic at The Financial Times and Professor in the Culture of Photography at University of Brighton; Michael Benson, Director of Candlestar and Olivia Arthur, Magnum photographer.

The Graduate Photographers Award builds on the collective commitment from Magnum Photos, Photo London and RBB Economics in the support, development and advancement of early career photographers.

With thanks to the nomination panel:

Bruno Bayley, Editor of VICE Magazine, UK
Emma Bowkett, Photography Director at the FT Weekend Magazine
Dr Benedict Burbridge, writer, photography critic and lecturer at University of Sussex & Courtauld Institute of Art
Lucy Davies, art & photography critic at The Telegraph
Emily Graham, Cultural & Education Manager at Magnum Photos
Chris Littlewood, Director of Photography at Flowers Gallery
Michael Mack, Founder & Director of MACK books Shoair Mavlain, assistant curator of photography at Tate
Louise Proud, Head of Photographs at Philips London
Aaron Schuman, writer, curator and lecturer at University of Brighton

For images and further information contact Emily Graham: